News: Screamfest 2017 Winners

To have your film selected for Screamfest is a prestigious honor in the horror world, but winning an award -- or multiple in some cases -- is icing on the cake. Since its inception in 2001, the festival has gone on to become the biggest and longest running for horror fare in the United States. This year saw fans, filmmakers, and experts alike gather at the TLC Chinese 6 Theaters in Hollywood to celebrate all things scary, but a couple of films, in particular, made quite the impression.

The biggest winner was Issa López urban fantasy Tigers Are Not Afraid, a Mexican production which tells the story of a gang of orphaned children trying to survive cartel violence in their native slums. The movie, which has been compared to the homegrown works of Guillermo del Toro, took home an impressive five awards and is definitely one we’ll be adding to our list of most anticipated movies set to be released in the near future.

Elsewhere, Italian mystery The Laplace’s Demon scooped up four awards. The film, which tells the story of a group of researchers who get more than they bargained for when they agree to take part in an experiment at an isolated mansion, has been garnering rave reviews since hitting the festival circuit with several pundits comparing it to The Twilight Zone. Partly inspired by the 1814 theory of the same name proposed by Pierre-Simon Laplace, this one is bound to hit the sweet spot of genre fans who like some science to complement their scares.

While Screamfest celebrated the genre’s rising stars, it also commemorated one of its longstanding denizens as Marianne Maddalena was given a Career Achievement Award. The film and television producer is known to horror fans for her collaborations with Wes Craven, beginning with Shocker in 1989 and lasting until Scream 4 in 2011. This was thoroughly deserved.

Check out the list below for all the winners:

Best Picture – Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Horror Comedy – Dead Ant

Best Director – Issa López – Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Actor – Juan Ramón López – Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Actress – Paola Lara – Tigers Are Not Afraid

Career Achievement Award – Marianne Maddalena

Best Musical Score – Duccio Giulivi – The Laplace’s Demon

Best Editing – Joaquim Marti – Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Visual FX – Giordano Giulivi & Alessandro Zonfrilli – The Laplace’s Demon

Best Special FX Giordano Giulivi – The Laplace’s Demon

Best Cinematography – Ferdinando D’Urbano – The Laplace’s Demon

Best Makeup – Creature Effects – Tragedy Girls

Best Short – Holy Fatma – Please Love Me Forever

Best Unproduced Screenplay – U-666 by Jacqueline Perez